Search

Recent publications

--> Url version détaillée , Url version formatée Structure name contains or id is : "409065;155441;135971;102266;212248;578082", Publication type : "('ART')"
790.
titre
PartiCitaE : Histoire et enseignement d'une expérimentation pas à pas PartiCitaE: history and lessons from a step-by-step experiment
auteur
Laure Turcati, Marine Legrand, Gilles Plattner, Laurence Eymard
article
, ISTE OpenScience, 2022, 7, ⟨10.21494/ISTE.OP.2022.0871⟩
titre
Preliminary Step towards COVID-19 Inactivated Vaccine Development in Egypt.
auteur
Mohamed Saad,, Amani A Saleh, Islam Ryan, Magdy Amin, Mahmoud S Saleh, Tayseer Abdulaal, Wael A Hassan, Mahmoud Samir, Ahmed A Raouf, Ayman Khattab,, Nermeen T Fahmy, Mohamed I Shindy, Sherein S Abdelgayed, Mohamed G Seadawy, Abdel-Rahman Zekri,, Hossam Fahmy,, Khaled Amer
article
, 2021, 1 (1), ⟨10.33425/2768-4598.1001⟩
titre
PartiCitaE : Histoire et enseignement d’une expérimentation pas à pas
auteur
Laure Turcati, Marine Legrand, Gilles Plattner, Laurence Eymard
article
, ISTE OpenScience, 2022, 7 (4), ⟨10.21494/ISTE.OP.2022.0871⟩
titre
An experimentally-determined general formalism for evaporation and isotope fractionation of Cu and Zn from silicate melts between 1300 and 1500 °C and 1 bar
auteur
Paolo Sossi, Frederic Moynier, Robin Treilles, Marwane Mokhtari, Xiang Wang, Julien Siebert
article
, Elsevier, 2020, ⟨10.1016/j.gca.2020.08.011⟩
titre
Transfer dynamics of macroplastics in estuaries – New insights from the Seine estuary: Part 2. Short-term dynamics based on GPS-trackers
auteur
R. Tramoy, J. Gasperi, L. Colasse, M. Silvestre, P. Dubois, Camille Noûs, B. Tassin
article
, Elsevier, 2020, 160, pp.111566. ⟨10.1016/j.marpolbul.2020.111566⟩

Supervisory authorities

Member of

Postdoctoral internship proposal at Leesu-ECOBIRD: open position

Coupled analysis of hydrodynamics and micropollutant transfer in an improved reed bed filter treating road runoff water

by Daniel Thevenot - published on , updated on

Description of a proposal for a postdoctoral internship position at Leesu and ECOBIRD starting December 2019

Detailled description of the postdoctoral internship proposal

Research subject

Coupled analysis of hydrodynamics and micropollutant transfer in an improved reed bed filter treating road runoff water

Short description

ECOBIRD and École des Ponts ParisTech - Leesu are seeking a postdoctoral fellow to take part to a research project funded under the EU’s funding instrument for the environment and climate action - LIFE program, project Life-Adsorb LIFE17 ENV/FR/000398. The postdoctoral fellow will be mainly in charge of the development and operation of a modelling framework describing both the hydraulics and the pollutant fate within an innovative type of reed bed filter.

The post-doctoral fellow will be recruited for a 36 month contract, by ECOBIRD, which is a private engineering, research and development company in ecological engineering, belonging to SYNTEA group.

He/she will be based at École des Ponts ParisTech, in Paris conurbation, within Leesu research laboratory. École des Ponts ParisTech is a French higher education institution that trains high-level engineers and doctors. Research at Leesu focuses primarily on urban waters and is organized around two main issues: adaptation to change and resilience of urban systems, preservation of ecosystems and natural resources.

The postdoctoral internship will be carried out in collaboration with the municipality of Paris which is coordinating the Life-Adsorb project and several other research institutions that are partners of the project.

Start date: December 2019

Qualifications needed

  • Hold a PhD in environmental science
  • Thorough knowledge on water flows and pollutant transport in variably saturated porous media is needed, with strong experience in numerical modelling.
  • Good knowledge of environmental physico-chemistry is also required

How to apply?

Send all the following documents within a single PDF file to Marie-Christine Gromaire and Stéphane Troesch:

  • 1. Cover letter stating your experience in relation to the subject of the postdoctoral internship
  • 2. Curriculum vitae including a list of your scientific publications
  • 3. Names and addresses of two referees for professional references

Detailed description of the research subject

Context

Road runoff, and in particular runoff from heavily trafficked roads such as urban outskirts, is an important vector of organic or metallic micropollutants that contributes to the degradation of aquatic environments and undermines the achievement of good ecological status under the European Water Framework Directive. In order to limit these loads to the natural environment, while contributing to the establishment of a hydrological cycle close to the natural state, solutions based on the temporary storage of runoff and its treatment in vegetated filters have been developed. They allow both the improvement of runoff water quality and the reduction of peak flow.

Among the solutions based on ecological engineering, reed bed filters, initially developed for extensive wastewater treatment, offers interesting prospects for the depollution of these stormwaters. Its effectiveness has been demonstrated for metals and nutrients, and more broadly for pollutants associated with the particulate phase. The behaviour of organic micropollutants in these structures is still relatively undocumented, and the treatment of some of these compounds seems limited by their more dissolved nature and by their possible association with colloids or dissolved organic matter.

One of the objectives of the LIFE-ADSORB project (LIFE17 ENV/FR/000398), in which this post-doctoral topic is included, is to implement and test a vertical flow reed bed filter, whose innovative design allows mechanical filtration and adsorption of dissolved micropollutants on a specific substrate, thus promoting their subsequent degradation. The focus of the project is on reducing organic and mineral micropollutants in road runoff, especially suspended solids (SS), metals, hydrocarbons and other environmentally toxic substances (phthalates, alkylphenols, perfluorinated compounds, etc.).

Objectives

The post-doctoral fellowship will focus on evaluating the performance of planted filter systems, equipped with a specific adsorbent substrate, for rainwater pollution control. By combining experimental monitoring and physics-based modelling approaches, it is necessary to understand the main processes involved in conditioning this purification performance, and in particular the interactions between the hydrodynamics of the filter and the transfer of pollutants. This knowledge will then be used to develop a simplified tool to help design and optimize the system.

Methodology

This work is focused on the reed-bed prototype developed within Life-Adsorb project for the treatment of runoff water from a 21 ha portion of the Paris ring road. The pilot, located in the Bois de Boulogne park in Paris, includes two 650 m² reed bed filters, alternately supplied by pumping. One compartment corresponds to a conventional design of a vertical flow reed bed, while the other includes a layer of adsorbent material designed to retain dissolved mineral and organic micropollutants. These filters are also subject to continuous and significant inflows of clear parasitic water, which may disrupt their operation. Their integration into the landscape of a classified natural area severely constrains their geometry, which could have an impact on the distribution of flows and residence time. Within the Life-Adsorb project, heavy experimental resources are used to monitor the hydrology (flows, water levels, substrate humidity) and the water quality (global parameters measured continuously and more punctual sampling and analysis of micropollutants) at different levels of the pilot, as well as the accumulated stocks.

The post-doctoral internship will be organized around three main parts:

1. Implementation of a modeling framework

The aim here is to set up the modelling tools to describe the hydraulics and the reactive transport of micropollutants in the two compartments of the pilot system.

A physics-based modelling approach will be adopted to describe 2D or 3D flows in filters. This fine modeling aims to better understand the influence of filter geometry and water supply conditions on the hydrodynamics, and their consequences on the transfer of micropollutants. It will be coupled with a conceptual description of the reactive processes (adsorption/desorption/degradation) and a simplified description of physical filtration.

The model configuration will be based on data acquired in other parts of the Life Adsorb project: acceptance tests of planted filters, column tests for the characterization of adsorbent material, micropollutant degradation tests.

The use of the HYDRUS software is considered for the development of the model. However, a state of the art of the modelling approaches used internationally for this type of need will be carried out at the beginning of the post-doctorate period in order to specify the choice of modelling tools and implementation conditions.

A simplified 1D representation of the system, more suitable for modelling long chronicles or comparing various management scenarios, will also be proposed. The validity of this 1D modelling approach will be assessed by comparison with the reference model.

2. Experimental evaluation of filter efficiency

The second part of the work concerns the analysis of all the experimental data, acquired from the filter monitoring framework, in order to analyse the performance of the two filters in terms of runoff pollution control. Efficiency will be assessed in terms of concentration reductions, mass reduction and output concentration level for a wide range of macro (TSS, organic carbon, nutrients) and micro-pollutants (trace metals, hydrocarbons, PAHs, bisphenolA, alkylphenols, phthalates). The efficiency gain attributable to the adsorbent material will be evaluated by comparing the results of the two filters.
The variability of this performance will be analyzed according to the nature of the micropollutants studied on the one hand, and according to the characteristics of the in-flow events on the other hand (volume, pollutant load, initial state of the system). The resilience of the system to parasitic clear water inflows will also be studied.

Stochastic modelling of pollutant flows into and out of the facility will be developed by coupling data from continuous measurements (flow, turbidity, conductivity) with data from micropollutant sampling and analysis campaigns that cover a limited number of events, and events which differ between the two filters. It will allow a more robust comparison of the efficiency of the two filters with respect to different micropollutants.

3. Application of the model

The models developed in Part 1 will be used after validation on the basis of experimental data to simulate the operation of the filter under a variety of meteorological conditions. The evolution of the filter’s performance over the long term will be assessed on the basis of simulations of long rainfall chronicles, and the estimated filter life, taking into account the progressive saturation of the adsorbent media. The model will also be used to test different operating scenarios and propose an optimization of the real-time management rules of the structure.

The application of the physics-based model should also make it possible to identify the key processes and the most important parameters in order to describe the pilot’s functioning in a systemic way.

Postdoctoral internship at Leesu - ECOBIRD starting December 2019
Marie-Christine Gromaire, Leesu, ENPC

Rechercher

Dernières publications

--> Url version détaillée , Url version formatée Structure name contains or id is : "409065;155441;135971;102266;212248;578082", Publication type : "('ART')"
722.
titre
Urban pathways of biocides towards surface waters during dry and wet weathers: Assessment at the Paris conurbation scale
auteur
Claudia Paijens, Adèle Bressy, Bertrand Frère, Damien Tedoldi, Romain Mailler, Vincent Rocher, Pascale Neveu, Régis Moilleron
article
, Elsevier, 2021, 402, pp.123765. ⟨10.1016/j.jhazmat.2020.123765⟩
titre
Impacts of organic matter digestion protocols on synthetic, artificial and natural raw fibers
auteur
Robin Treilles, Aurélie Cayla, Johnny Gasperi, Bénédicte Strich, Patrick Ausset, Bruno Tassin
article
, Elsevier, 2020, 748, pp.141230. ⟨10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.141230⟩
titre
The NORMAN Association and the European Partnership for Chemicals Risk Assessment (PARC): let's cooperate!
auteur
Valeria Dulio, Jan Koschorreck, Bert van Bavel, Paul van den Brink, Juliane Hollender, John Munthe, Martin Schlabach, Reza Aalizadeh, Marlene Agerstrand, Lutz Ahrens, Ian Allan, Nikiforos Alygizakis, Damia’ Barcelo’, Pernilla Bohlin-Nizzetto, Susanne Boutroup, Werner Brack, Adèle Bressy, Jan Christensen, Lubos Cirka, Adrian Covaci, Anja Derksen, Genevieve Deviller, Milou Dingemans, Magnus Engwall, Despo Fatta-Kassinos, Pablo Gago-Ferrero, Félix Hernández, Dorte Herzke, Klara Hilscherova, Henner Hollert, Marion Junghans, Barbara Kasprzyk-Hordern, Steffen Keiter, Stefan Kools, Anneli Kruve, Dimitra Lambropoulou, Marja Lamoree, Pim Leonards, Benjamin Lopez, Miren Lopez de Alda, Lian Lundy, Jarmila Makovinská, Ionan Marigómez, Jonathan Martin, Brendan Mchugh, Cécile Miège, Simon O’toole, Noora Perkola, Stefano Polesello, Leo Posthuma, Sara Rodriguez-Mozaz, Ivo Roessink, Pawel Rostkowski, Heinz Ruedel, Saer Samanipour, Tobias Schulze, Emma Schymanski, Manfred Sengl, Peter Tarábek, Dorien ten Hulscher, Nikolaos Thomaidis, Anne Togola, Sara Valsecchi, Stefan van Leeuwen, Peter von der Ohe, Katrin Vorkamp, Branislav Vrana, Jaroslav Slobodnik
article
, 2020, 32 (1), ⟨10.1186/s12302-020-00375-w⟩
titre
An experimentally-determined general formalism for evaporation and isotope fractionation of Cu and Zn from silicate melts between 1300 and 1500 °C and 1 bar
auteur
Paolo Sossi, Frederic Moynier, Robin Treilles, Marwane Mokhtari, Xiang Wang, Julien Siebert
article
, Elsevier, 2020
titre
Transfer dynamics of macroplastics in estuaries – New insights from the Seine estuary: Part 2. Short-term dynamics based on GPS-trackers
auteur
R. Tramoy, J. Gasperi, L. Colasse, M. Silvestre, P. Dubois, C. Noûs, B. Tassin
article
, Elsevier, 2020, 160, pp.111566. ⟨10.1016/j.marpolbul.2020.111566⟩

Tutelles

Membre de

Offre de postdoctorat au Leesu-ECOBIRD : recrutement ouvert

Analyse couplée de l’hydrodynamique et du transfert des micropolluants dans un filtre planté adsorbant traitant des eaux de ruissellement de voirie

par Daniel Thevenot - publié le

Description de l’offre d’emploi pour un stage postdoctoral au Leesu et à ECOBIRD à partir de décembre 2019

Description détaillée du stage postdoctoral

Thème général

Analyse couplée de l’hydrodynamique et du transfert des micropolluants dans un filtre planté adsorbant traitant des eaux de ruissellement de voirie

Contexte

Les eaux de ruissellement de voirie, et notamment celles des voiries à fort trafic telles que les périphériques urbains, sont un vecteur important de micropolluants organiques ou métalliques issus principalement de la circulation, mais également des matériaux des infrastructures et de leur entretien. Le rejet sans traitement de ces eaux contribue à la dégradation des milieux aquatiques récepteurs et nuit à l’atteinte du bon état écologique visé par la directive cadre européenne sur l’eau. Afin de limiter ces flux vers le milieu naturel, tout en contribuant à l’établissement d’un cycle hydrologique proche de l’état naturel, des ouvrages, basés sur le stockage temporaire des eaux de ruissellement et leur filtration par des substrats végétalisées, combinent l’amélioration de la qualité de l’eau de ruissellement avec la réduction du débit de pointe.

Parmi les solutions basées sur l’ingénierie écologique, la technologie des filtres plantés de roseaux, initialement développée pour l’épuration extensive des eaux usées, offre des perspectives intéressantes pour la dépollution de ces eaux pluviales. Son efficacité a été démontrée pour les métaux et les nutriments, et plus largement pour les polluants associés à la phase particulaire. Le comportement des micropolluants organiques dans ces ouvrages reste encore assez peu documenté, et l’abattement de certains de ces composés semble limité par leur nature plus dissoute et par leur possible association à des colloïdes ou de la matière organique dissoute.

L’un des objectifs du projet LIFE-ADSORB (LIFE17 ENV/FR/000398), dans lequel s’inscrit ce sujet de post-doctorat, est de mettre en œuvre et de tester un filtre planté de roseaux à écoulement vertical, dont la conception innovante permet de coupler la filtration mécanique et l’adsorption sur un substrat des micropolluants dissous, en favorisant leur dégradation ultérieure. L’accent est mis sur la réduction des micropolluants organiques et minéraux présents dans les eaux de ruissellement de voirie, particulièrement contaminées en métaux, matières en suspension (MES), hydrocarbures et autres substances toxiques pour l’environnement (phtalates, alkylphénols, composés perfluorés, etc).

Objectifs

Le post-doctorat portera sur l’évaluation de la performance de systèmes de filtres plantés, munis d’un substrat adsorbant spécifique, pour la dépollution des eaux pluviales. Il s’agit, en couplant des approches de suivi expérimental et de modélisation à base physique, de comprendre les principaux processus en jeu conditionnant cette performance épuratoire, et notamment les interactions entre l’hydrodynamique du filtre et le transfert des polluants. Ces connaissances seront ensuite mises à profit pour développer un outil simplifié d’aide à la conception et à l’optimisation du système.

Méthodologie

Ce travail s’appuie sur l’étude d’un dispositif pilote mis en place dans le cadre du projet Life-Adsorb pour la dépollution des eaux de ruissellement d’une portion du périphérique parisien de 21 ha. Le pilote, implanté dans une prairie du bois de Boulogne, comporte deux filtres plantés de roseaux de 650 m² chacun, alimentés en alternance par pompage. L’un des compartiments correspond à une conception classique de filtre planté vertical, tandis que l’autre comporte une couche d’un matériau adsorbant destiné à la rétention des micropolluants minéraux et organiques dissous. Ces filtres ont la particularité d’être également soumis à des apports continus et significatifs d‘eaux claires parasites, ce qui est susceptible de perturber leur fonctionnement. Leur insertion paysagère dans un espace naturel classé à fortement contraint leur géométrie, ce qui pourrait impacter la répartition des flux et le temps de séjour. Dans le cadre du projet Life-Adsorb des moyens expérimentaux lourds sont mis en œuvre afin d’assurer la mesure des grandeurs relatives à l’état hydrique du système (débits, hauteurs d’eau, humidité du substrat), de la qualité de l’eau (paramètres globaux mesurés en continu et campagnes plus ponctuelles d’échantillonnage et analyse des micropolluants) à différent niveaux du pilote et des stocks accumulés.

Le post-doctorat s’organise autour de trois parties principales :

1. Mise en place d’un cadre de modélisation

Il s’agit ici de mettre en place les outils de modélisation permettant de décrire les écoulements et le transport réactif des micropolluants dans les deux compartiments du dispositif pilote.

Une approche de modélisation à base physique sera adoptée pour décrire les écoulements en 2D ou 3D dans les filtres. Cette modélisation fine vise à mieux cerner l’influence de la géométrie du filtre et de ses conditions d’alimentation en eau sur l’hydrodynamique, et leur conséquence sur le transfert des micropolluants. Elle sera couplée à une description conceptuelle des processus réactifs (adsorption/désorption/dégradation) et une description simplifiée de la filtration physique.

Le paramétrage du modèle s’appuiera sur les données acquises dans d’autres parties du projet Life Adsorb : essais de réception des filtres plantés, essais en colonne pour la caractérisation du matériau adsorbant, essais de dégradation des micropolluants.

L’utilisation du logiciel HYDRUS est envisagée pour le développement du modèle. Un état de l’art des approches de modélisation utilisées à l’international pour ce type de besoin sera cependant réalisé en début de post-doctorat afin de préciser le choix des outils de modélisation et des conditions de mise en œuvre.

Une représentation simplifiée en 1D du système, plus adaptée pour la modélisation de chroniques longues ou la comparaison de divers scénarios de gestion, sera également proposée. La validité de cette approche de modélisation 1D sera évaluée par comparaison avec le modèle de référence.

2. Évaluation expérimentale de l’efficacité du filtre

La seconde partie du travail porte sur l’exploitation de l’ensemble des données expérimentales, acquises de le cadre du monitoring du filtre, afin d’analyser la performance des deux filtres en matière de dépollution des eaux pluviales. L’efficacité sera évaluée en termes d’abattement de concentration, d’abattement de masse et de niveau de concentration en sortie, pour un large panel de macro (MES, carbone organique, nutriments) et micro-polluants (éléments trace métalliques, hydrocarbures, HAP, bisphénolA, alkylphénols, phtalates). Le gain d’efficacité attribuable au matériau adsorbant sera évalué par comparaison entre les résultats des deux filtres.

On analysera la variabilité de cette performance en fonction de la nature des micropolluants étudiés d’une part, et en fonction des caractéristiques des épisodes de mise en eau d’autre part (volume, charge polluante, état initial du système). La résilience du système aux apports d’eaux claires parasites sera également étudiée.

Une modélisation stochastique des flux polluants entrant et sortant de l’ouvrage sera développée en couplant les données issues des mesures en continu (débit, turbidité, conductivité) et celles des campagnes d’échantillonnage/analyse de micropolluants qui portent sur un nombre d’événements limités et potentiellement différents d’un polluant ou d’un filtre à l’autre. Elle permettra une comparaison plus robuste de l’efficacité des deux filtres vis-à-vis des différents micropolluants.

3. Application du modèle

Les modèles développés en partie 1, seront utilisés après validation sur la base des données expérimentales, pour simuler le fonctionnement du filtre sous une diversité de conditions météorologiques. L’évolution des performances du filtre sur le long terme seront appréhendées à partir de simulations de chroniques pluviométriques longues, et la durée de vie du filtre estimée, compte tenu de la saturation progressive du média adsorbant. Le modèle sera également employé pour tester différents scénarios d’exploitation et proposer une optimisation des règles de gestion en temps réel de l’ouvrage.
L’application du modèle à base physique doit par ailleurs permettre d’identifier les processus clefs et les paramètres les plus importants dans un objectif de description systémique du fonctionnement du pilote.

Profil recherché

De niveau doctorat, ayant suivi un parcours pluridisciplinaire, vous disposez de solides connaissances sur les écoulements dans les milieux poreux, physico-chimie de l’environnement et modélisation numérique.

Modalités administratives

Employeur : ECOBIRD

Localisation : le(a) post-doctorant(e) sera basé(e) à l’École de Ponts ParisTech, à Champs sur Marne (77455), au sein du Laboratoire Eau Environnement et Systèmes Urbains (Leesu).

Encadrement : encadrement principal par Marie-Christine Gromaire (Leesu) et Stéphane Troesch (Ecobird). Des interactions fortes sont à prévoir avec d’autres acteurs du projet Life Adsorb.

Contacts

Durée : 36 mois.

Date de prise de poste  : décembre 2019

Salaire : 2 050 € net/mois

Proposition de stage postdoctoral Leesu-ECOBIRD depuis décembre 2019
Marie-Christine Gromaire, Leesu, ENPC